Evaluation Committee


Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology, Japan (MEXT)
Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas
Project Leader: Takashi Kato, Area Number: 6104, FY2019-FY2023
Aquatic Functional Materials:
Creation of New Materials Science for Environment-Friendly and Active Functions

Evaluation Committee

Evaluation Committee (Alphabetical Order)

  • Kohzo Ito
    Professor, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, The University of Tokyo
  • Maki Kawai
    Director General, Institute for Molecular Science, National Institute of Natural Sciences
  • Toyoki Kunitake
    University Professor, Institute of Advanced Study, Kyushu University
  • Kazuyuki Kuroda
    Professor, Faculty of Science & Engineering, Waseda University
  • Hisashi Yamamoto
    Professor and Director, Chubu University
  • Kenichi Yoshikawa
    Guest Professor, Life and Medical Sciences, Doshisha University
    Emeritus Professor, Kyoto University

International Advisory Board (Alphabetical Order)

  • Nicholas Abbott
    Cornell University
  • Joanna Aizenberg
    Harvard University
  • Michael Aizenberg
    Harvard University
  • Stefan Hecht
    Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin
  • Yanli Zhao
    Nanyang Technological University

Industrial Advisory Board (Alphabetical Order)

  • Eri Ito
    Menicon Co., Ltd./Nagoya Institute of Technology
  • Satoshi Kajiyama
    Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation
  • Hiroyuki Kishimoto
    Sumitomo Rubber Industries, Ltd.
  • Masahito Nishiura
    DKS Co. Ltd.


Takashi Kato Laboratory
Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo, 7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo 113-8656, Japan